Sam Song Seeking

Hello, and welcome to Sam Song Seeking! My intention for my blog is to share with you my personal style, health discoveries and fitness journey, and favorite local businesses as I continue to seek my happiest and most positive self.

Here's a little bit about myself:

  Okiino leggings   •  Nike sneakers  / Photo: Julia O Test

Okiino leggings  • Nike sneakers / Photo: Julia O Test

I currently live in San Francisco, where I was born and raised. I didn't realize that was "unusual" until almost everyone I met when I moved back after college was from out of town and thought I was a rare breed.

I essentially grew up on a soccer field, playing from the age of four all the way through college, so remaining physically active after college was always very important to me. My health is never something I've taken for granted, as I’ve had a handful of health issues throughout my life, including a few recently discovered food intolerances. I'm still working on finding the right balance of workouts and foods that are best for my body, and, while every body is different, it's one of the things I'm excited to share with you.

That leads me to food. My fondest memories from my childhood always revolved around food, whether it was rolling lumpia with my grandma or baking cookies with my mom. I grew up watching the Food Network (30-Minute Meals, anyone?) and Ina Garten is my idol. I love trying new cuisines and exploring new restaurants, but I also love cooking homemade meals. It wasn’t until a year ago that I realized that my idea of “healthy eating” was completely off. With new food trends and fad diets constantly changing, I found it very difficult to focus on what MY body needs and processes best. Since then, I’ve been experimenting with the Whole30 and paleo diets and working on listening to my body and mind, and I hope to help guide any of you who may be going through the same.

 Madewell top ( similar top ) • Olivaceous shorts (via  Isalis ) • Schutz heels ( similar color ) / Photo: Julia O Test

Madewell top (similar top) • Olivaceous shorts (via Isalis) • Schutz heels (similar color) / Photo: Julia O Test

Now onto the fashion side of SSS: if I were to describe my style when I was younger, it would definitely be tomboy. Having an older brother will do that to you. Throughout high school and college, I struggled to find my own personal style. My love for fashion didn't grow until after college, when I went through somewhat of a reset to focus on myself. I began to curate pieces that I personally loved as opposed to the typical outfits that girls were wearing. I love how fashion is constantly evolving and draws from so many sources of inspiration, and I find that my personal style gradually does the same.

Not only do I want to share with you all of the things that I love, but I also want to be able to connect with my readers. Even though I've essentially lived in San Francisco my whole life, I love that there are always new businesses and restaurants to discover. My hopes are to share my everyday experiences and discuss topics or concerns that resonate with you. And I may not know exactly what direction this blog will go in, but I do know it will be 100% me.